Games w/ MIDI

Talk about all aspect of Japanese games.

Moderator: Gaijin Punch

User avatar
SuperDeadite
Respected Poster
Respected Poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:56 am
Location: Watertown, NY
Contact:

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby SuperDeadite » Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:53 pm

Off topic, but I finally aquired a copy of Shadow of the Beast for Towns in mint shape. But it won't boot on my Fresh (even with Fast Mode disabled). :( The CD looks brand new, and my Fresh runs all my other games like a champ. The game does play on my old gray vertical towns, but that thing is on it's last legs, takes about 20 rests to boot anything, and often drops the cd audio music when it does work... Anyone know of a patch or something for the fresh?
Stronger then your average deadite

Shou
Borderline recluse
Borderline recluse
Posts: 1026
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:19 am
Location: Central Tokyo, Japan, Asia, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby Shou » Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:52 am

SuperDeadite wrote:Off topic, but I finally aquired a copy of Shadow of the Beast for Towns in mint shape. But it won't boot on my Fresh (even with Fast Mode disabled). :( The CD looks brand new, and my Fresh runs all my other games like a champ. The game does play on my old gray vertical towns, but that thing is on it's last legs, takes about 20 rests to boot anything, and often drops the cd audio music when it does work... Anyone know of a patch or something for the fresh?


Doesn't work on my Fresh either but it did work on my previous Fresh E.
become history
Image

Image

User avatar
SuperDeadite
Respected Poster
Respected Poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:56 am
Location: Watertown, NY
Contact:

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby SuperDeadite » Sat Sep 08, 2012 5:23 pm

Must be a slo-mode bug in the early 486 based machines then. :( Oh well, good news is that I managed to grab a fully working Car Marty for cheap, and it plays the game like a boss. Of course I'm stuck with S-Video over RGB, but it makes a nice, small unit to have on hand for this and any other games which don't like the Fresh. ;)
Stronger then your average deadite

User avatar
SuperDeadite
Respected Poster
Respected Poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:56 am
Location: Watertown, NY
Contact:

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby SuperDeadite » Sun Sep 09, 2012 11:23 am

Did some searching, the games like Might and Magic, Lord of the Rings, etc are all LA Synth based games. The FMT-403's internal MIDI hardware is GS (SC-55). So it won't work directly, but if you connect an external MT-32/CM-32L/CM-64/CM-500 module to the MIDI Out jack on the card, I'd assume that would work just fine. :)
Stronger then your average deadite

User avatar
SuperDeadite
Respected Poster
Respected Poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:56 am
Location: Watertown, NY
Contact:

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby SuperDeadite » Thu Sep 13, 2012 4:15 pm

Finally got the FMT-403. I only have Genocide2 and Murder Club DX. Both work automatically, and sound great. I'll have to get one of those western LA synth games to test with, besides the MIDI out ports for an external module, I noticed the MIDI card has dip switches. I wonder if one of them will switch the internal SC-55MKII to CM-64 (LA) compatibility mode? Can't find info on them anywhere...
Stronger then your average deadite

Shou
Borderline recluse
Borderline recluse
Posts: 1026
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:19 am
Location: Central Tokyo, Japan, Asia, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby Shou » Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:53 am

SuperDeadite wrote:Finally got the FMT-403. I only have Genocide2 and Murder Club DX. Both work automatically, and sound great. I'll have to get one of those western LA synth games to test with, besides the MIDI out ports for an external module, I noticed the MIDI card has dip switches. I wonder if one of them will switch the internal SC-55MKII to CM-64 (LA) compatibility mode? Can't find info on them anywhere...



I didn't get the box or manual either so no idea but I don't think that GS model has a CM-64 mode. CM-64 sounds horrible on my SC55mk2.
become history

Image



Image

User avatar
SuperDeadite
Respected Poster
Respected Poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:56 am
Location: Watertown, NY
Contact:

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby SuperDeadite » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:50 pm

Oh I assume it would lol. Just curious if it can match the notes up at least. Even my Yamaha TG100 has a CM-64 map mode. It sounds terrible, but it's there. :)
Stronger then your average deadite

User avatar
Stefan_L
Exchange Student
Exchange Student
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 6:41 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby Stefan_L » Sat Sep 22, 2012 4:19 pm

Is "Super Streetfighter 2" X68000 supporting General Midi or is it Roland only?

User avatar
SuperDeadite
Respected Poster
Respected Poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:56 am
Location: Watertown, NY
Contact:

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby SuperDeadite » Sat Sep 22, 2012 11:39 pm

Daimakaimura
Street Fighter II'
Super Street Fighter II

are all pure GM only games. No GS support.
Stronger then your average deadite

User avatar
SuperDeadite
Respected Poster
Respected Poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:56 am
Location: Watertown, NY
Contact:

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby SuperDeadite » Tue Oct 02, 2012 12:56 pm

Finally got the Yamaha MU2000EX I've been drooling over for awhile. And made a stupid long (over an hour) vid of using it with a ton of different X68k games. Enjoy! :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZsAQQzuSmpw
Stronger then your average deadite

User avatar
SuperDeadite
Respected Poster
Respected Poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:56 am
Location: Watertown, NY
Contact:

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby SuperDeadite » Thu Jan 03, 2013 6:20 am

Ended up with a copy of the Micomsoft NAGDRV music driver. It came with some awesome music samples, that were sadly never used in an actual game. I especially love finding stuff that uses the 64 expansion cards, as they are extremely rare, and sound beautiful when used right.

Afterburner's "Final Take Off" ~ Internal + Roland CM-64 + SN-U110-10 Rock Drums PCM Expansion Card.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fEAoMm8DAgU

Galaxy Force's "Beyond the Galaxy" ~ Internal + Roland CM-64 + SN-U110-07 Electric Guitar PCM Expansion Card.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ECQw5xoGMmk

Outrun "Passing Breeze and Splash Wave" ~ Internal + Roland MT-32
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U7LBOzrrdKE
Stronger then your average deadite

User avatar
SuperDeadite
Respected Poster
Respected Poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:56 am
Location: Watertown, NY
Contact:

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby SuperDeadite » Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:13 am

PIcked up a Yamaha PLG150-DR (Professional Level Drum Kit Plug-in Board), and been messing around a bit, here's the results with SSFII's Ken's theme and some minor edit/tweaks

Youtube
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jw9yFxzN ... e=youtu.be

MP3
http://www.tg-16.com/contributors/super ... t_Edit.mp3
Stronger then your average deadite

User avatar
SuperDeadite
Respected Poster
Respected Poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:56 am
Location: Watertown, NY
Contact:

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby SuperDeadite » Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:31 am

X68K MIDI Parade 2 - Roland CM-64

This video is 2 hours long. ;)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VhTYhlkJTTI
Stronger then your average deadite

User avatar
Stefan_L
Exchange Student
Exchange Student
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 6:41 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby Stefan_L » Sun Feb 03, 2013 8:01 pm

That PLG150-DR card does it work with General Midi? I mean will it replace the standard kit with an updated standard kit automatically if assigned to channel 10?

Now i dont rememebr but will those PLG cards work in TG300B mode (GS mode)?

User avatar
SuperDeadite
Respected Poster
Respected Poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:56 am
Location: Watertown, NY
Contact:

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby SuperDeadite » Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:12 pm

PLGs are assigned to a part, so you can override the default part quite easily. But if a reset message is sent, you'd have to redo it. PLGs can be used in XG, GM, and Perfom modes. Not in GS mode.
Stronger then your average deadite

User avatar
Pretas
Exchange Student
Exchange Student
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:56 am
Location: NTSC-US

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby Pretas » Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:25 am

Really love being able to hear these. Brings back memories of the DOS PC with Sound Blaster Pro I had as a kid.

The Galaxy Force one with the guitar samples is amazing.
Hohe Türme ragen senkrecht und dicht gedrängt gen Himmel
Stahl, Qualm und rauchende Schornsteine
Eine Zukunftgesellschaft im Zerfall
Angeborene Lichtphobie
Vögel in der Finsternis

User avatar
SuperDeadite
Respected Poster
Respected Poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:56 am
Location: Watertown, NY
Contact:

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby SuperDeadite » Thu Feb 14, 2013 3:48 pm

Group X using Yamaha SY22.
This is beyond badass. (thanks again GP!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Add1kL696pw
Stronger then your average deadite

User avatar
Gaijin Punch
Supreme Leader
Supreme Leader
Posts: 8035
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 9:02 am
Location: in da house

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby Gaijin Punch » Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:43 am

SuperDeadite wrote:This is beyond badass. (thanks again GP!)


Glad to help! ;)
Rade wrote:Finally received a reply by posting in a thread at that Gaijin forum:

User avatar
Stefan_L
Exchange Student
Exchange Student
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 6:41 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby Stefan_L » Fri Feb 15, 2013 5:08 am

Amazing :D
I have the same feeling as you when you wrote "and i thought i'd seen it all".

Shou
Borderline recluse
Borderline recluse
Posts: 1026
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:19 am
Location: Central Tokyo, Japan, Asia, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby Shou » Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:46 pm

SuperDeadite wrote:Off topic, but I finally aquired a copy of Shadow of the Beast for Towns in mint shape. But it won't boot on my Fresh (even with Fast Mode disabled). :( The CD looks brand new, and my Fresh runs all my other games like a champ. The game does play on my old gray vertical towns, but that thing is on it's last legs, takes about 20 rests to boot anything, and often drops the cd audio music when it does work... Anyone know of a patch or something for the fresh?


So, I spent half of the day figuring this one out. How much RAM do you have in your machine? Shadow of the Beast doesn't like it when I have 8MB+8MB in it but when I switched to 8MB+4MB, it runs fine.
become history

Image



Image

User avatar
SuperDeadite
Respected Poster
Respected Poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:56 am
Location: Watertown, NY
Contact:

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby SuperDeadite » Sat Feb 23, 2013 3:47 pm

Interesting. I have 36mbs. 6mb (I think, does the Fresh have mobo embedded?), and a 32mb.

Will have to mess around with this, but typically I just run it on the Car Marty, S-Video ain't half bad.
Stronger then your average deadite

User avatar
SuperDeadite
Respected Poster
Respected Poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:56 am
Location: Watertown, NY
Contact:

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby SuperDeadite » Mon Mar 04, 2013 2:42 am

Playing around with my PLG150-DR and Silver Knights

http://youtu.be/YsWiH-eKXK8
Stronger then your average deadite

Shou
Borderline recluse
Borderline recluse
Posts: 1026
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:19 am
Location: Central Tokyo, Japan, Asia, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby Shou » Mon Mar 04, 2013 3:56 am

SuperDeadite wrote:Interesting. I have 36mbs. 6mb (I think, does the Fresh have mobo embedded?), and a 32mb.

Will have to mess around with this, but typically I just run it on the Car Marty, S-Video ain't half bad.


The Fresh has 4MB on the mobo already and then 2 expansion slots. Shadow of the Beast must not be able to handle it for some reason. I recall on my last FMT machine that I had 32MB and it ran fine though...
become history

Image



Image

User avatar
SuperDeadite
Respected Poster
Respected Poster
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:56 am
Location: Watertown, NY
Contact:

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby SuperDeadite » Mon Mar 04, 2013 4:38 am

actually I have 38mb total. So 4mb mobo, 2mb in slot 1, and 32mb in slot 2. I guess that's my issue, I should reverse the chips. I need to replace the infernal battery in my machine anyways, keep putting it off.

Did you ever get the CF board working in that thing? From my experiments with normal SCSI HDDs, it seems the Towns actually saves HDD format info in the battery backed SRAM. Meaning when the battery goes, so does your HDD, you must reformat and start from scratch... :( Kinda defeats the purpose of going flash. I'm thinking I'll rig up a dual battery holder setup so I can switch the battery with a new one without losing power, still lame though.
Stronger then your average deadite

Shou
Borderline recluse
Borderline recluse
Posts: 1026
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:19 am
Location: Central Tokyo, Japan, Asia, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way

Re: Games w/ MIDI

Postby Shou » Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:19 am

SuperDeadite wrote:actually I have 38mb total. So 4mb mobo, 2mb in slot 1, and 32mb in slot 2. I guess that's my issue, I should reverse the chips. I need to replace the infernal battery in my machine anyways, keep putting it off.

Did you ever get the CF board working in that thing? From my experiments with normal SCSI HDDs, it seems the Towns actually saves HDD format info in the battery backed SRAM. Meaning when the battery goes, so does your HDD, you must reformat and start from scratch... :( Kinda defeats the purpose of going flash. I'm thinking I'll rig up a dual battery holder setup so I can switch the battery with a new one without losing power, still lame though.


Oh really? I didn't know it saved critical info within it. There must be some new NVRAM on the market which can replace it....

I actually cleaned up my retro PC setup recently and fixed my X1 then went to the FMT.

I haven't found a TownsOS CD to install. Do you have one? The one OS disc I have doesn't seem to be able to boot on its own?
become history

Image



Image


Return to “Japanese Video Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron