Critique a control panel button layout designed for STGs

Talk about all aspect of Japanese games.

Moderator: Gaijin Punch

DJ Incompetent
Exchange Student
Exchange Student

Critique a control panel button layout designed for STGs

Postby DJ Incompetent » Tue Sep 20, 2011 1:54 pm

Hi.
So I've been creating a MAME cab for the past 9 months. I'm almost finished with it, but I wanted to tap the knowledge of high level arcade players before I finalized my controls. I was wondering if you guys could have a look and pass along some advice if I'm forgetting to include anything.

My experience with MAME is fairly limited, so I would like to get simplified controls with shortcuts to essential features right the first time while not being pulled into doing something foolish by someone inexperienced at shmups forum. Hence, why I'm asking here.

The cabinet is a rebuild from a busted Centipede machine. My focus is 3 things:
-1CCing Vertical STGs
-Trackball games
-Ergonomic Doubleplay

(large image is large)
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/6811279/IMG_20110920_003518.jpg

On the main 1Player side, using a combination of the small pushbutton and/or the P1 Start button, I would have access to the following MAME features:
-Save State
-Load State
-Record Movie
-Snapshot
-Fast Forward
-Service Mode
-Configuration Menu
-Reset Game
-Exit Game (Back)
-Add P1 Credit

Is there any regular MAME feature I'm forgetting that I should be making a shortcut for? For example, I am to understand the autofire feature is only accessible in the MAME main menu except for some games accept a toggle autofire options, so I can't design an easy shortcut for it. Is that accurate?

What about cheats and odd button combination for accessing secret features?